Views from my bicycle: Brendan Byrne State Forest

In my last post, I mentioned Brendan Byrne State Forest as a place for a possible weekend getaway in NJ.  Yesterday, the air was crisp in the morning , fall weather.  Fall is nearly here.  Pumpkins and mums were plentiful at the road stands I passed on my way to Brendan Byrne.  Spiced wafers and apple cider were prominently displayed in the grocery store when I did some shopping earlier in the day.  The only things missing to create the total fall experience were colorful leaves and CAMPING!

I couldn’t go camping.  But, I love being outdoors in this type of weather.  Autumn is my favorite season.  So, I did the next best thing:  a ride in the woods. 

Brendan Byrne State Forest is only 40 minutes from my home,  so I put my bike in the back of our pickup and took off.  The sky had gone from nearly all blue to thickly overcast with moisture in the air and I considered not going.  I’m glad I went.  Brendan Byrne has lots of trails.  Some are paved.  Lengths vary from 1.5 miles to 10.8 miles.  I rode a 3+  mile,  undulating portion of the 10.8 mile Bike Trail for a total of nearly 7 miles through the pine and oak forest.  I went late in the day, so there were only a few riders in the park.  A few vehicles passed me on the road as they went back to the campground.  The ride was pleasant.  I can’t wait to ride once the leaves turn. 

I share this post because bike riding is something that I do when I go camping.  Johnnie and I nearly always take our bikes with us wherever we go.  We have ridden on bikes on Cannon Beach, Oregon; on the roads in Devils Tower National Monument in Wyoming; Badlands National Park in South Dakota; Assateague National Park in Maryland; Pine Island and Sugarloaf Key in Florida; Brattleboro, Vermont; and Kouchiboguac National Park in New Brunswick, Canada.  The bike rides let us get intimate with the landscape, to see it at a leisurely pace, and gives lots of time to stop and get some photos as well as stop for a snack or lunch that we’ve packed. (I neglected to mention that we have ridden at Belleplain and Cape May Point State Park, but I think I take those rides for granted or as much a part of me as breathing!)

For my friends new to RVing, towing a dinghy (vehicle) is great because you can take side trips while leaving your RV parked.  But consider taking / buying bicycles for another experience in the outdoors.

Here are a few photos from the day.  I know I will take many more when I return next month.

Brendan Byrne State ForestA view of the trail, open to hiking or bikingInfo board on the Pine Barrens

1 Response to “Views from my bicycle: Brendan Byrne State Forest”


  1. 1 miniature Australian shepherds August 10, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and
    I am impressed! Very helpful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such
    information much. I was looking for this particular info for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.


Leave a comment




September 2011
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Blog Stats

Acadia National Park Alaska Alaskan Highway albuquerque arizona Assateague Island National Seashore Bay of Fundy Belleplain State Forest Bicycling bike trails Binoculars Birding Birds California Cameras campfires Camping Canada Cape Hatteras National Seashore Cape May Cape May Point State Park cycling Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area eagles Edwin R. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge Floral Clock Florida Green-headed Fly Kouchigibouguac National Park Lundy's Lane Maine Marana Maryland Montreal mountain laurel mountains National Parks nature New Bern New Brunswick New Jersey new mexico new york Niagara Falls North Carolina North Dakota Nova Scotia Noyes Museum Ontario Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument Pennsylvania Photography places to visit Quebec rv rving rv travel Sedona South Dakota southern Arizona stargazing state parks Swatara Rail Trail Tohono Chul Park Toronto travel trip planning tucson Tucson area Virginia Welland Locks Wildlife Wright Brothers National Memorial writing Wyoming

Acadia National Park albuquerque arizona Assateague Island National Seashore Belleplain State Forest Birding Canada cycling Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area Florida KOA Campgrounds Maine Maryland National Parks nature New Jersey new mexico New York Niagara Falls North Carolina Ontario Pennsylvania Photography places to visit Plants rv travel travel tucson Uncategorized Wildlife