Archive for April 4th, 2008

Artful Interstate 40 in Albuquerque

The trip home is always difficult.  Johnnie and I love being on the road.  We have to convince ourselves that we need to come back, to make the money for the next trip!  We also start counting the days until the next trip:  121 days from today.

One thing that made part of the trip home pleasurable was driving through Albuquerque.  The overpasses of I-40 and I-25 are beautiful!  They are decorated with metalwork in the shape of cornstalks and other Native American symbols, each overpass different.  I searched for pictures of these beautiful overpasses on the Internet, starting with the City of Albuquerque website.  None could be found.  We were traveling far too fast to take pictures that would do the overpasses justice.  I hope that some one eventual does.  The one picture that I could find is of the “Big I“.  This is where I-40 and I-25 come together.  The ramps are a sand pink trimmed in blue, very pleasing to the eye.  I also found a picture of some of the giant pottery that can be found throughout the city.  There is giant pottery in the median of I-40 west of Juan Tabo Blvd and also west of San Mateo Blvd.  It is worth the drive down I-40 just to see these beautiful pots.  The City of Albuquerque should be commended for its use of art in beautifying all parts of the city!


April 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 15,488 hits