Archive for April 26th, 2008

My Favorite Campground in New Jersey: Belleplain State Forest

My favorite place to camp in New Jersey is Belleplain State Forest in Woodbine, NJ.  Belleplain is in both Cumberland and Cape May Counties, off of Rte. 347 on the way to the southern NJ shore — Cape May, Wildwood, Avalon, Stone Harbor, etc.  (Look at my friend Kathy’s blog post about a day trip that she took with her son in some of this same area.)

There are a number of roomy sites for our 40-ft. motorhome.  We have to boondock, or dry camp, because there are no hook-ups at the sites, but there is a dump and water is also available. 

Campfire

 

For us, Belleplain is only an hour and a half from home.  We usually stay for no longer than three days, just a nice get-away, especially when homebound.  (Like now.  I can feel a trip to Belleplain coming on!) 

We have seen Belleplain in every season.  My least favorite season is summer and that is only because the campgrounds are full.  There are people everywhere and that is very good for the park.  (See my posts on my other blog, At One With The World, about possible park closures in the proposed state budget.)  The park has a recreation area — Lake Nummy which is open from Memorial Day to Labor Day and people from the local area come to swim, boat, and picnic.  An interpretive nature center, with activities for the children during the summer, is across from the lake.

But, I enjoy Belleplain best when there are few people around and the park seems like my own private haven.

My favorite season is fall.  Fall is my favorite season in general, but at Belleplain, I can walk among the fallen leaves in some areas and among the fallen pine needles in others.  In the early morning, the air is damp and redolent with pine.  I enjoy rides on my bicycle on the various trails when I don’t have to dodge people or horses.  The Pine Barrens are one of my favorite parts of the state and Belleplain is at the very southern edge of the Pine Barrens.

During the fall of 2006, the conditions were right for a lot of red in the colors of the changing leaves.  Johnnie and I always travel with our camera, so we were able to spend an afternoon photographing the red in the leaves and even found a red mushroom.  Below are some of the pictures from that trip.

Red Mushroom

A Branch of Red Leaves

Multi-colored Leaf

Lake Nummy in the Fall

Reds


April 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 15,488 hits